Now what did I do?

I wish I could remember what went into this latest batch of bread and butter pickles.

IMG_0366

I started, as always, with my yellowing copy of the NY Times food section from last July, which offers an easy, but oversweet recipe from a “make-em-don’t-buy-em” section on things to go with burgers. It’s one of those “tweak now” recipes that makes enough pickles to store in the fridge for a week or so. I love it.

There have been many experiments with this one, but I almost always add more vinegar than the recipe says, some sliced up garlic and a lot less sugar (probably only half the amount the recipe says). And I throw in herbs and spices according to mood or based on what’s in the pantry or the garden.

But the latest iteration is quite possibly the best I’ve ever made, with a chilli kick, the coolness of mint and a pink glow that came because I used the pickling brine I had left over from a couple of batches of pickled beets rather than mixing sugar, vinegar and spice anew. I know I added chilli, mint and mustard seeds, but can I ever make it work again?

My mother never followed recipes either. I guess I inherited the just-be-clueless gene.
IMG_0361

2 Comments »

  1. Ahhhh!!!! We have an abundance of cucumbers this year, and I am wondering what to do with them. Thanks! Lisa

  2. Cea said

    It’s a great basic recipe, Lisa. Enjoy.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

