Read your vegetables

I’m not sure I need to cook anything from this month’s Cook the Books recipe book. I’m just going to buy the book and work my way through it, one glorious recipe after another.

You see Nigel Slater’s Tender is my sort of book, heavy on the veggies (well duh, it’s a vegetable cook book), easy on the other ingredients and totally flexible in the way it goes about things. And it’s a good read to boot, with tips about growing the veggies as well as cooking and eating them. It didn’t seem to matter where I opened the book, there was something I wanted to make, whether the grilled eggplant, the broad bean hummus or the moist chocolate cake with mashed up beets. I mean it sounds so weird it has to be worth a try.

In some ways this book, cover-less, torn at the edges and clearly well used by many library borrowers before me, reminds me of another well worn offering in my own cookbook collection, Jane Grigson’s Vegetable Book. Grigson writes her way from artichoke to watercress and Slater starts with asparagus and ends with tomato, but the idea is the same. Two well-written books that work for me.

20130507-214643.jpg

Yes, okay, I’ll probably cook something before the month is out, but that will have to be another blog entry.

1 Comment »

  1. Tender is good, so is the fruit one. We’ve learned how to use the greens on brussel sprouts and other veg instead of tossing that away.
    I’ll recommend this beets/chocolate cake recipe from my friend Conner and her anti-cancer cookbook, Zest for Life:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/wellbeing/8299252/The-worlds-first-anti-cancer-cookery-school.html

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

