Sweet-salty something

Wellpreserved.ca picked maple syrup as the theme for their monthly HomeEc session this week, prompting a glut of cakes, cookies and other stuff dentists detest. I wasn’t going to race across town with pancakes, so opted for don’t-follow-a-recipe maple bacon cookies, an interesting concept that I thought might work.

I based my recipe on one from Bakeaholic Mama. But I cut the sugar a little and stroked in wholewheat flour, baking powder and oats, as well as a generous helping of walnuts. It worked.

Maple bacon cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup wholewheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 cup butter (I used a little less than a cup, and added 1tbsp of bacon fat to make up the difference)
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup maple syrup
8 rashers of bacon, cooked to crispness and crumbled
1 cup roughly chopped walnuts
1/2 cup rolled oats

Cream butter (and bacon fat) and sugar. Mix in egg and maple syrup. Add the dry ingredients, then the bacon and the walnuts and mix until blended. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and store in the fridge for an hour or so (I kept mine overnight), before spooning small balls out onto cookie sheets.

Bake for 10 minutes at 350.

They are slightly salty, slightly chewy and very sweet.

But I fretted that a week of waiting might have damaged the cookie masterpiece (I battled my way through a snowstorm to show up a week early for a home-ec that wasn’t), so I also threw together a last-minute batch of Maple Almond Thumbprint cookies, grinding and mixing all the ingredients in the food processor and then baking for a quick 15 minutes with some home-made blueberry fennel jam. I thought they were a bit sweet, but the spouse liked them.

I’ m not much of a meat eater, and I can’t remember when I last ate pork, but I do love the salty bacon taste.

Anyone got other sweet recipes using bacon (or bacon and maple syrup) to share?

Leave a Reply

