Snagging stuff

Canning buddy and I went over to a jam session last night, a get-together of those who can to swap our home made produce.

Big-time canners over at Well Preserved have been organizing these for a couple of years, but this was the first time that my stars lined up with theirs. So I went through my jars, to see what I had in triplicate or quadruplicate, and took a look what my fellow jam-makers had on offer.

My to-swap offerings comprised three different marmalades (orange, lemon and grapefruit) as well as two chutneys (plum apple and a mango one that I have not even blogged about yet), one of my four precious jars of quince jelly and my final jar of the vanilla/apple/cherry jam that was an attempt not to use pectin in a cherry jam.

I ended up with:

One jar of pear, lime ginger jam that’s on today’s yogurt already. Nice bite, but perhaps a notch sweeter than I would have made it.

One (large) jar of a fermented hot pepper sauce, which I’m going to leave entirely for the spouse, given the fact that hot things scare me a little.

A small jar of rowan berry jelly and one of a prizewinning Persian carrot jam. I am intrigued by the idea of a carrot jam.

A jar of very green salsa verde, made from tomatillos from the canner’s garden.

One jar of apple vanilla jam.

One jar of raspberry pear jam.

A small package of home-crystallized ginger. A little stringy. Very hot.

A successful evening, methinks.

2 Comments »

  1. Saw quince in the store. That on your list during your visit?

    • Only if you liked it too. Remember, you’re going to end up with most of the stuff we make. You have to like it. You fancy any of the stuff I snagged at the swap?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

