Cranberry capers

New Jersey canning buddy, the one who introduced me to home made jams and chutneys, snagged a half dozen bags of half-price cranberries in the post-Christmas sales, so I felt morally obliged to head down to New Jersey to help her use them up. We spent an evening scouring the internet for recipes, double guessed ourselves a few times and ended up with a highly gratifying selection. Can’t for the life of me remember where we got all the recipes, and our post-cook taste tests won’t really do justice to the finished product, so I’ll keep this to a picture and a list. In the order we made them:
Cranberry orange marmalade. Cranberries, oranges, sugar and ginger. What can possibly go wrong. I insisted on slicing the orange peel rather than processing it, and I don’t think we needed the pectin the recipe wanted. But it certainly looks good.

Cranberry chutney. A Bernadin/Balls recipe that included chunks of candied pineapple as well as cranberries, apples and ginger. A notch heavy on the cloves, if truth be told, but it may mellow with time

Moroccan chutney. It might have been this one, but we were looking at many options and I can’t remember which one we chose in the end. But I somehow suspect it wasn’t. The one we made seems spicier, and it doesn’t look anything like the picture. Maybe canning buddy can help me out.

Lime pickle. We made this last year, but I never got to take any home with me, so we had to try again this time. I’m not allowed to open it for another week or so (at least that’s what the recipe says), but it definitely has a kick.

There’s something very, very satisfying about a few dozen jars of Home Made Stuff.

 

1 Comment »

  1. The Moroccan one is from Balls but is called Mediterranean Apricot and Date Chutney. We dumped the raisins for figs, added some cumin. I think we should have been heavy-handed with a Moroccan spice mixture. (Forgot we still have some sealed up from a trip to Morocco many years ago, though the spice vendor’s personal mix may be a bit heavy on cinnamon.)
    Next time!

    And this is our cranberry orange marmalade recipe:
    http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/11/cranberry-orange-jam-with-crystallized-ginger-recipe.html

    For the record, you left me with 17 jars! But it is wonderful to spend a day in the kitchen like that. Preserved lemons are next on my list.

    Let me know how those clearance-special lids from Lowe’s work out.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

