Marmalade

I’m so easily influenced.

Diva Indoors grumbles, in the friendliest possible way, that a post called “Oranges and lemons” didn’t have anything to do with marmalade at all. And I get inspired to make some after all, if only to use up the organic lemons that didn’t fit into the jar for yesterday’s preserved lemons. The venture: a lemon ginger marmalade recipe from my newest jamming book, the one I lost then bought again without ever finding the first (second hand bookstore) copy. I admit I was a little curious that a so-called lemon ginger marmalade only called for three slices of ginger, but I think the lemons are the main point of this one. I sliced the peel up nice and thin after the spouse complained that last year’s chunky orange marmalade had too many chunks. I reckon being nice to him this time gives me the right to be super chunky when those Seville oranges finally roll around.

It’s an easy, easy recipe:

Lemon ginger marmalade

1 lb organic lemons
3 slices ginger
water
sugar

Quarter lemons, remove seeds and slice them nice and thin. Measure, and add an equal amount of water. Bring to boil and simmer 15 minutes until the peel is meltingly soft. Remove from heat, cover and leave for a bit. The recipe said overnight. I guess I left mine about six hours. The recipe also didn’t say what to do with the ginger slices. I fished them out.

Measure the resultant mix, and then measure out equal quantity of sugar.

Heat, adding the sugar half a cup at a time until it’s dissolved. Boil for about 10 minutes or until it sets. Bottle.

There’s so much acid in this baby that I defy any microbe to even think about growing in it, which means I didn’t bother to water bath. This is merely a fact, and not an endorsement of not water bathing jams. (My mother covered her jams with plastic and stored them in the larder for months at a time. We all lived to tell the tale.)

Of course one advantage of all this is that marmalade provides instant gratification, while preserved lemons need at least four weeks of patience while the fruit soaks up all the salt and flavors.

The taste: bitter, yet sweet, the perfect pairing with toast and butter, although I admit I can’t taste the ginger. And it set as I poured it into the jar.

Now that’s a jam.

What else can I use it for?

1 Comment »

  1. Bernadette said

    Thank you thank you thank you! Did I really omit to comment here? Maybe some of this in a wrap with cilantro-ed chicken? Please sneak a jar through Customs when you visit NY!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

