Marmalade goes mainstream

I’ve tended to think that I’m the only person in the universe who is anxiously waiting for Seville oranges to hit St Lawrence Market later this winter so I can continue the marmalade trail I first ventured onto in February and in March last year. And I’ve even worried what I will do if they hit the fruit stall next month, when I am on the road, and whether I can bribe my jamming buddy to buy a few kilos and store them until I return.

Now the Globe and Mail has got in on the act, with a half-page ode to the joys of home made marmalade, although admittedly with a recipe that’s several notches more complicated than the one I used. “They (home made marmalades) can take a bit of getting used to, but once you’ve acquired a taste for them there is no going back to the wimpy stuff that lines most supermarket shelves.” Well exactly. I couldn’t have put it better myself.

This means the anticipation is even deeper than it was before, and I can’t wait to see what we come up with this year, and whether the marmalade will get the 5-star rating my memory gives it from 2009. I want to add more ginger than we tried last time, and I want to keep the peels as chunky as I dare. It all adds to the bitterness.

Traditionally marmalade is a breakfast dish of course, served on generously buttered toast, possibly after a hearty first course of bacon and eggs.

Personally I prefer it as a ski trip/bike ride sandwich, spread thick with a generous portion of organic peanut butter on two slabs of farmers’ market wholemeal bread. It’s protein, carbs and sugar in a delicious, easy-to-eat package. I can hardly wait.

3 Comments »

  1. bernadette said

    I’m putting in an order right now for 2 jars, please. I will pay P&P too!! Chunky peels, ginger, farmers’ market bread… droooool. Did I mention decent marmalade is hard to find here? There’s a lovely place at Chelsea Market that makes beautiful jam (not naming names here) but we were most disappointed by the marmalade. It was too sweet and unorangey, not bitter, and hardly any peel 😦

  2. This stuff is knock your socks off bitter. When will the spouse next be in Toronto? Tell him to give me a heads up. Maybe we could arrange a personal delivery.

  3. We’ll definitely have to do a taste-off between your marmalade and the one made by the Brit’s aunt next time you come! I’ll make the bread.
    I didn’t get her version with whiskey but that (or some other alcohol) may be a variation for you to try. Hmmm … maybe I should try amaretto with one of my concoctions?
    And what about lemon marmalade? Plenty of recipes to evaluate online, with or without Meyer lemons.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

