Those Ozzies are brilliant

Starting the preserving game is a little baffling at first — all those strange ingredients, all the chopping and mixing and then the mysterious alchemy that happens when different flavors come together and compete or complement each other. (See mixing and matching for a particularly notable example). But of all the recipe books I’ve played with, there’s one that I come back to time and time and time again.

The aptly named Pickles, Chutneys and Relishes is a skinny volume put out by the Australian Women’s Weekly home library collection, which somehow conjures up pictures of Ozzie housewives picking mangoes from their backyard trees to me. It has glossy pictures and shiny pages that don’t stain too easily and maybe 50 recipes. But I can honestly say that even the oddest sounding combination (think something truly bizarre like fig, tomato and caramelized onion jam!?!)  has knocked my socks off, and there are some that I can’t wait to make again. And while canning buddy and I have slightly different favorites (she insists we put the sun dried tomato chutney high up on this winter’s agenda), there’s not a single one that failed, either in terms of the time it takes, or in terms of the taste.

Watch this space for reviews of the other books in the ever-expanding collection. And pictures too, once I get books, camera and computer in the same place.

2 Comments »

  1. alliumnstozinnias said

    I vote for chili coriander jam, which really is a chutney is my book. De-lish!!
    Think I tried the sundried tomato one, and this one — well, let me just say that people have eaten half a jar in one sitting. (OK, I tend to increase the tomatoes and keep sugar and vinegar the same)

  2. […] be the first near dud from what has long been the most reliable of recipe books, a thin, colorful Australian volume that has struck gold almost every […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

